The Deep Dark Woods – The Place I Left Behind

This must be Goth Week for me. Earlier I wrote about the Family Band, who describe themselves as “goth prom music.” And now, I introduce to you the The Deep Dark Woods who have been described as “prairie gothic,” which is apt given that they hail from Saskatoon, Saskatchewan. Their new album is called The Place I Left Behind and it’s kind of a strange thing to get your head around.

Have you ever been witness to one of those days where the wind is blowing hard and one moment the sky is filled with dark clouds, and then a moment later, the sun will shine through and it seems like it might turn into a glorious summer day? It’s that kind of rapidly shifting weather that The Place I Left Behind reminds me of. Mostly its dark and gloomy with haunting melodies a la Nick Cave’s Murder Ballads, but every once in a while, the clouds part and there’s a hazy Americana song reminiscent of The Band or The Flying Burrito Brothers.

That’s not to say The Place I Left Behind is a bad album. There are plenty of really good songs here: “The Banks Of The Leopold Canal,” the title track, “Mary’s Gone,” “Never Prove False.” However, it is rare that I will think the same couple of songs sound good from one listen to the next based on whether I’m feeling nice and smiley or whether I’ve got the big lip disease.

Now that’s it October — the month of Halloween and the last month with any real color — gothic-tinged country is just about perfect. As for the warm sunny days, I’m sure there’s one or two left of those as well. And if you need one album for both kinds of weather, The Place I Left Behind will suit you fine.

The Deep Dark Woods’ Website

West Side Street by The Deep Dark Woods:

Leave a Reply

