Kickstarter Alert: Small Houses and Others in “Old Hills, Young Mountain”

To be perfectly honest, I’m not the biggest fan of compilation albums. I like it when the album I’m listening to has a cohesive sound and style and with compilation albums I’m just turned off by the lack of continuity. I’m sure it has something to do with my aversion to surprises and my obsession with lists, labels, and structure. When something doesn’t fit or make sense, then I wrack my brain trying to find the logic or understanding so I can rest peacefully. If I don’t find that understanding, then you might as well count on me disliking your music, album, or compilation. This may account for why I’m not the greatest at making mixed tapes or playlists, but I digress.

Anyway, back to the topic at hand. Recently, Jeremy Quentin, who you probably know as Small Houses, emailed me about his upcoming Kickstarter campaign for a new compilation album. I of course watched the video, and, to my surprise, I liked it. I like it so well I’ve decided to support it as much as I possibly can. It’s safe to say, I’m behind this project 100%. After all, this is Jeremy Quentin, who is a singer-songwriter I highly regard.

Now, to the details. Old Hills, Young Mountain was an ambitious undertaking that has yielded a beautiful result. Instead of various artists recording in different studios scattered throughout the country, the artists recorded in one studio in Kalamazoo, Michigan. Produced by Jeremy and Pat Carrol, this album was made in the Double Phelix Studios using analog, reel to reel gear to create and capture the artists singing live. This compilation will give the listeners an organic sound that can only be produced by musicians in the comfort of their natural environment making Old Hills, Young Mountain a delightful and refreshing take on the ordinary compilation.

To get a better idea of this very impressive project, watch the video below, then head on over to Kickstarter to find more information on the artists and to donate to the campaign.

Leave a Reply

