Joan Shelley – Ginko

I don’t know where or how to begin to review or describe Joan Shelley’s new album and Ol’ Kentuck debut, Ginko. But, I can say this, it stopped me dead in my tracks the first time I heard it. Produced by Daniel Martin Moore,  Ginko is a brilliant example of beauty that moves elegantly between light and dark. Featuring a laundry list of impressive musicians which includes Ben Sollee, Cheyenne Marie Mize, Nathan Salsburg, and Daniel Joseph Dorff, the instrumentation dances, skips, and tiptoes around Joan’s distinctively dulcet voice allowing both her and her exceptional songwriting to shine and captivate. With very little being said, Ginko has left me speechless. It’s an album that truly needs to be heard to understand my inability to express its many stunning qualities. So, in closing I found this quote from Heinrich Heine that best fits my thoughts on this particular album, “When words leave off, music begins.”

Stream & Purchase Ginko
Joan Shelley: Website; Facebook; Twitter




Leave a Reply

