Jeremy Squires covers Jill Andrews’ new song “Rust or Gold”

DSCN2139


Pull up a chair and let me tell you a short story about a song and serendipity.

Thursday night, I was sitting in my living room watching Grey’s Anatomy like I have for the past ten years, but for some reason this episode was slightly different.  Known for using “indie” music to soundtrack their episodes, I have grown accustomed to letting the music go in one ear and out the other acting like background noise, but on this particular episode (“Do You Believe In Magic?”) there was a song that made me sit up and take notice.  This gorgeous piano-driven ballad with this lovely, fragile voice hit me like a ton of bricks, so like the music blogger that I am, I had to know who this beautiful voice and song belonged to. I googled the lyrics I could remember, but to no avail causing me to go to bed completely unsatisfied and slightly mad.

Fast forward to the next morning. I’m sitting in my office and I get a twitter alert from everyone’s favorite blog, Slowcoustic, announcing that he posted a little blurb on Jeremy Squires’ cover of Jill Andrews’ new song “Rust or Gold.” Well, I thought I should read it and share since Jeremy has quickly become a favorite of mine, so I click on the link. Lo and behold, at the end of his little write-up, Slowcoustic says that the original version was just featured on Grey’s the previous night. So, not only do I have a favorite tune, I have a favorite tune sung by two very different artists. Both piano-driven and both delicate and wistful, but Jeremy’s lo-fi rendition with weeping dobro is more vulnerable and intimate. Knowing a little about Jeremy and his music, I know that his honest take on “Rust or Gold” is the natural product of playing all of the instruments making the song more candid and sincere, thus giving it another level of emotion.




Also, before I forget, Jeremy released a new original single last month. A fantastically forlorn and sensitive song, “Ghostlike” is a beautiful example of what is to come from this thoughtful and talented singer-songwriter. His new album, When Will You Go, is currently in the works and expected to be released later this year, so keep an ear to the ground and your eyes on the computer screen for more on Jeremy Squires.




P.S.: If you like what you hear, please be sure to check out all of Jeremy’s albums. They’re well worth it. I guarantee you’ll become a fan.


Jeremy Squires: Website; Facebook; Twitter; Bandcamp

Leave a comment