Bro. Stephen – Baptist Girls

There are just a few more days left in 2011 and I’m already making predictions on the best of 2012. I’m predicting (and, I’m fairly certain) that my 2012 end-of-the-year list as well as others will include Bro. Stephen’s debut, full-length album, Baptist Girls. Yeah, it’s that great! I haven’t stopped listening to it since he sent it to me last week.

Bro. Stephen (intended “Brother” not “Bro”) is the songwriting project of Scott Kirkpatrick, who is also behind the indie-rock Chemic. Now, after two years of traveling, writing and recording, Bro. Stephen is more than ready to release Baptist Girls on January 24, 2012. The album is amazing, outstanding, excellent, gorgeous and its all around perfect. Its everything I look for in music – slow, acoustic, brilliant songwriting and soft vocals. Bro. Stephen’s writing is thoughtful and emotionally vivid but not excited or trite. And, with the occasional help from Cheyenne Marie Mize,  his voice is mellow, calm and steady. Basically, Baptist Girls has been salve to soothe my soul and the best medicine to ease my nerves. This record is my favorite thing to listen to during and after a long, hard day at work.  So, at least for me, good luck trying to top Baptist Girls, because I guarantee this will be an album I listen to A LOT throughout the upcoming year and the following years to come.

Pre-Order Baptist Girls

Tears On Tape”

2 thoughts on “Bro. Stephen – Baptist Girls

  1. Pingback: Q & A with Everybody’s Brother – Bro. Stephen. « Common Folk Music

Leave a comment